This is my book on Exporting.
The following information should be included with export pricing.
- Cases/Master Carton (if used)
- Cases (or Master Cartons) / pallet
- Price for one Case or Master Carton
- Price for one pallet’s worth
- Price for multiple pallets (LCL, less than container load)
- Price for 20′ container
- Price for 40′ container
Please make your “mix & match” policy crystal clear. When you say the price is $10 for quantities over 1,000, can the 1,000 pieces be different colors/styles/products and so on. Any ambiguity here will lead to much frustration and can derail a project.
- Shipping location and postal code for cases
- Shipping location and postal code for pallets
- Shipping location and postal code for containers
- Terms for cases, e.g. FOB, ExWorks, or other
- Terms for pallets
- Terms for containers
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incoterms gives a good description. FOB is a terms that’s usually misused. It means you’ll deliver goods onto the ship.
If you have any celebrity endorsements, this is very valuable to a successful product launch in Japan. Be sure to notify prospective distributors of any celebrity endorsements you may have.
It’s better to make a small margin on a huge order, than to try to make larger margin on an order that never happens.
You may be used to selling to retailers at wholesale prices. Selling internationally is different.
After the a product leaves your warehouse or factory, the following expenses will be incurred (not by you):
- Ocean freight
- Inland transportation
- Margin for importer
- Margin for wholesaler
None of these expenses is incurred when you sell at wholesale to your retail accounts.
That is why export prices have to be lower than wholesale pricing.
The challenge is to not price your product so high that your product becomes too expensive foreign markets. In Japan, for example, you have to figure that if your export price is $10, the retail price will be between $42.00 and $45.00. This is an average, and includes international shipping, duty, taxes, distribution, marketing, and, of course, the same keystone markup for the retailers. This does not mean that someone is making a killing and you should therefore raise your price.
If you lower your margins at higher volumes, you stand a much better chance of succeeding internationally. Remember, it’s better to make a small margin on a huge order, than to try to make larger margin on an order that never happens.
When you sell internationally, you no longer have to factor in costs such as the following in your cost accounting:
- Gen. & Admin.
- Trade Shows
- POP/POS Materials
I recommend taking a look at your COGS and calculate an acceptable contribution margin. Figure your incremental COGS and tack on a percentage—5% or 10% or whatever. That won’t cover all your fixed expenses, but you will still have an incremental margin, or contribution margin, that will be money in your pocket to help […]